Books · Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: 7 Books To Read If You Like: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s theme is… Ten Books To Read If You Like This Super Popular Book/Author

fangirl

I couldn’t think of ten, but here are seven AWESOME books to read if you like Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

roomies

Roomies by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando

If Cath and Reagan had emailed extensively before they moved in together, the result might be something similar to Roomies. The book is told in alternating points-of-view, with email conversations on display, making it very similar to Rainbow Rowell’s writing style. I think this book is really underrated– definitely worth it if you’re looking for some good YA about the college experience (sort of!)

mytruelove


My True Love Gave to Me by Stephanie Perkins, ed.

This is an excellent collection of stories from the plethora of well-known YA authors, including our beloved Rainbow Rowell. They’re all themed around December holidays (mostly Christmas), so be sure to read snuggled in a blanket once Autumn rolls in.


Finding Audrey

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Fangirl focuses a lot on mental illness. Cath and Wren’s dad has a form of mental illness, and Cath herself suffers from what I believe is social anxiety. Finding Audrey‘s title character suffers a breakdown at the hands of some school bullies and hasn’t left the house in months. She wears sunglasses even when speaking to her family, until a new friendship spurs her to begin the healing process.


meandearlMe and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is a bit of a different one. Told from a male POV, and focusing on his relationship with the “dying girl”, this one is more similar in tone than in content. Both Fangirl and Me and Earl are very funny books with great narrative voice.


The Fangirl's Guide to the Galaxy by Sam Maggs. Forthcoming from Quirk Books, May 12, 2015.The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy by Sam Maggs

Fangirls unite! Sam Maggs is awesome (and so so nice! I met her at a reading) and this book is a great guide for any younger girls looking to get into fandom, which Fangirl‘s Cath would definitely appreciate. If Cath were real, she’d almost definitely have an interview in this book.


everything everythingEverything Everything by Nicola Yoon

This is another really sweet book about a very sick girl (her immune system is compromised) who starts a relationship with the boy next door. The book is sort of a scrap book of different things. There are normal sections you might find in any YA novel, but also there are journal entries, drawings, schedules, documents. It’s a fun read with an adorable romance. I’ll be reviewing this one soon, if you want to know more!


carryonCarry On by Rainbow Rowell

And, of course, how could I ignore Carry On when talking about books Fangirl lovers might enjoy! This one’s not out yet (SOOOOOOON!), but will feature two characters from Fangirl‘s book-within-a-book: Simon and Baz. I have nothing but high hopes for this Harry Potter-esque fantasy story.


That’s it for my recommendations– let me know if there are any I should check out! I’m sure I’ve missed a BILLION books. These are just some of what I’ve read.

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 7 Books To Read If You Like: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s