Books · reviews

Sample/excerpt review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

I don’t always have the cash to spend on new releases, or the means to getting advance copies of upcoming books, but I’ve decided I’m not going to let that stop me. Below you’ll find a review of a sampler/excerpt from a new/upcoming release. I have NOT read the whole book, so please take any opinions with a grain of salt – it’s hard to tell from any book how much you’ll like it based on the first few chapters.

Special note: Thanks to Kel at Booked Til Tuesday for giving me the idea to review a preview/sample chapter.

Love this cover!
Love this cover!

Sampler Review:

The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
Published by Putnam Juvenile, January 13, 2015.

Reviewed from an excerpt in the Penguin Teen Winter 2015 Preview Sampler (downloaded via Netgalley). Changes may have been made in the final version of this book.

Goodreads description:

A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance–perfect for fans of Ally Carter

Avery West’s newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family–but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she’s falling in love with.

Preview review:

Going into this sample, I hadn’t read a summary yet and didn’t know what to expect, but the cover image does have the words “An ancient puzzle. A trail of clues. An unwanted destiny”. I assumed from this that it might be some sort of Indiana Jones-esque novel.

Turns out, it’s about a secret society and an ancient prophecy; however, the sample chapters read more like a high school drama than anything else. The only “mystery” is why Avery overheard the new boy at school, Jack, speaking on the phone in a British accent. Also, why was he carrying around a photo of Avery?

There’s also an out-of-place looking man who Avery encounters on her drive home (assuming he’s a baddie!) and her mom’s strange behavior when Avery says she wants to go to prom that night, but that’s it. I got the feeling the action was about to pick up right when the sample ended, and am intrigued to find out more.

Though the sample material didn’t match up the description (after I looked it up), I still want to continue reading. Hall’s writing is solid enough that even if this were just your typical high school drama, it would probably still be an interesting read. Knowing now that this is about secret societies and an international conspiracy/ancient prophecy, I’m even more intrigued.

Verdict:

I definitely want to keep reading!

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Sample/excerpt review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s