Books · Top Ten Tuesday

Top Six Most Anticipated Debut YA Novels of 2015

Every now and then there is a Top Ten Tuesday I can’t pass up. Or maybe every now and then I just manage to stop being lazy, or at work until all hours, and visit The Broke and the Bookish to see what the upcoming themes are. If you’re unfamiliar, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over there. Today’s Top Ten theme looked quite satisfying to me, but I still couldn’t come up with 10 items for it. And didn’t want to make things up, because that’s unfair, so…

Top Ten Six Most Anticipated Debut (YA) Novels of 2015

  1. Red QueenRed Queen by Victoria Aveyard
    Publication Date: 2/1/15

    A brief description: Graceling meets The Selection in debut novelist Victoria Aveyard’s sweeping tale of seventeen-year-old Mare, a common girl whose once-latent magical power draws her into the dangerous intrigue of the king’s palace. Will her power save her or condemn her?

    Reason to read: I’ve heard nothing but good things so far. And the cover. God, can we just talk about how beautiful this cover is.

  2. ValiantValiant by Sarah McGuire
    Publication Date: 6/9/15

    A brief description: A debut fairy tale retelling featuring a strong female character and a daring quest just right for fans of Shannon Hale, Jessica Day George, and Gail Carson Levine.

    Reason to read: I haven’t read anything by Shannon Hale (but Samantha loves her books) or Jessica Day George (I may have just added her to my Goodreads account), but I LOVE Gail Carson Levine. That enough is reason to check this out. Also, another pretty cover!

  3. The Invisible LibraryThe Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman
    Publication Date: 12/15/14 (US)

    A brief description: The first installment of an adventure featuring stolen books, secret agents and forbidden societies – think Doctor Who with librarian spies!

    Reason to read: Doctor Who plus anything is awesome, but this book now has a lot to do. And also, technically this book is a 2014 release, but I only just now heard of it, so I’ve decided it makes the cut.

  4. The Sin Eater's DaughterThe Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury
    Publication Date: 2/24/15

    A brief description: Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the court… She’s the executioner.

    Reason to read: I confess, I didn’t even read what this was about before adding it. Why? Because one of my favorite Twitter accounts (@Kris10MFAF aka My Friends Are Fiction) has been raving about this for the past few days, that’s why.

  5. We All Looked UpWe All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach
    Publication Date: 3/31/15

    A brief description: Four high school seniors put their hopes, hearts, and humanity on the line as an asteroid hurtles toward Earth in this contemporary novel. [But also read the awesome description on The Huffington Post]

    Reason: This sounds fascinating, and really original in terms of YA books. Not sure if there’s another one like it…

  6. All the Bright PlacesAll the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
    Publication Date: 1/6/15

    A brief description: The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this compelling, exhilarating, and beautiful story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

    Reason to read: I feel like it’s cheating to put this on here, since I just included it in my post on Saturday. Nevertheless, I’ve heard great things about this and it’s been getting a lot of buzz. It’s got big shoes to fill, saying it’s like TFIOS meets E&P. And that’s coming from a person who wasn’t entirely sold on E&P.

I’m going to be honest, I have no idea how many of these I’ll actually remember to buy… Check back next year and I guess I’ll have an answer for you!

Advertisements

8 thoughts on “Top Six Most Anticipated Debut YA Novels of 2015

    1. I’m nervous now! One of my facebook friends said it was just ok.

      And yeah, definitely not enough time! Especially considering I only average about two books a month.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s